Compensation for the Loss of a Limb in a Maryland Car AccidentWritten by ruxandra
If you suffered the loss of a limb in a Maryland car accident, you can formulate a car injury claim in MD and receive compensation for lost wages, medical bills, and for the damages of your vehicle and car accident disability. The best way of doing this is with the help of a professional that knows the car injury law. That is why it is recommended to get the help of a car injury lawyer from Maryland.
Types of car insurance coverage
Before seeking compensation for your car accident disability, you should know that some types of car insurance cover personal injuries. Of course, this will depend on what policy you have and the nature of the accident.
PIP (persona injury protection) or the “no-fault insurance”, will pay for your medical costs (to a limit), even if you were at fault for the accident.
The other driver’ bodily injury liability coverage will help you with all expenses if the other driver is at fault. Your own liability will not cover any costs.
Medical payment coverage will pay for all medical expenses indifferent of the blame. This is similar to PIP, but unlike it, it will not cover the lost income, loss of services, and funeral expenses. This will only cover the medical expenses.
Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage will cover all your bodily injury cost. This is valid if you were the victim of a hit-and-run or if you were in an accident with a driver who does not possess any insurance (or their insurance does not meet your expenses).
Your claim and determining the fault
In some cases, like the rear-end collisions, the driver that hit from behind will be almost always considered at fault. But other types of accidents are not as clear. The best way of determining this is by contacting your car injury attorney from Annapolis. By doing this, you will help the car insurance company to determine the fault and help win the car injury compensation in Maryland.
Maryland auto insurance laws
In Maryland, the insurance laws are based on an “at-fault” or “fault” model. This means that an injured person is free to file their car injury claim in MD with the other driver’s insurer or with their own insurer. In Maryland, the drivers are required to carry a minimum of $60,000 per accident and $30,000 in coverage for bodily injuries. In most cases, these are enough to cover your damages, but if you suffered the loss of a limb in a Maryland car accident, this could prove to be insufficient. That’s why getting the help of a car injury attorney from Annapolis you can file a car injury claim in MD. The car injury compensation you will receive will cover all the expenses and also offer you financial comfort.
If you were the victim of a car accident and you lost a limb, you can contact the best car injury lawyer from Maryland at (443) 569-3950 or email at email@example.com.