Juvenile DUI in Maryland – What Are the Consequences?Written by ruxandra
As you well know, the DUI Maryland law is one of the harshest ones in America – Maryland has zero tolerance for drinking and driving. But what happens when the driver is under 21? What is the juvenile DUI Maryland statute? In this article, you will find valuable information on dealing with a DUI offense when the driver is underage.
Firstly, you need to know that the BAC (blood alcohol content) for underage drivers is .02%, as opposed to the .08% for those who are 21 years or older. Also, the consequences for an underage driver that has been drinking and driving can be more severe than for an adult driver because the judge will take into consideration the fact that the defendant should not have been drinking at all. If the driver is over 18 but under 21, they will be charged as an adult. If the driver is under 18, they will be charged in the juvenile court. However, the administrative consequences with the MVA will be the same for a DUI under 21 in Annapolis and an adult DUI offense.
Maryland DUI penalties
Your DUI attorney in Annapolis will tell you that the penalties for a DUI are the following:
- A first-time offense may lead to up to two months of imprisonment, a fine of $500 (or $1000 if a minor was present), and a 6-months license suspension.
- A second-time DUI conviction may result in up to one year of jail time, a fine between $500 and $2000 and one year of license suspension.
While the Maryland DUI penalties are severe enough on their own, an underage driver may also be charged with one of the following offenses:
- Giving alcohol to other minors, if there were underage drunk passengers in the car
- Alcohol solicitation
- Minor in possession
- Possession of a fake ID that was used to purchase the alcohol
- Child endangerment law violation
The DUI Maryland law is very strict, and it can get even stricter in the case of underage drinking and driving. Because of that, it is crucial to contact a Maryland DUI lawyer as soon as possible and get damage control. Only with the help of an experienced DUI attorney in Annapolis you or your loved one can minimize the impact of the severe event.
Your lawyer will advise you to enter a Maryland certified alcohol education program to show that you are willing to learn from your mistakes, and they will create a custom strategy for striking a deal and minimizing the impact of this unfortunate event. Contact the best Maryland DUI lawyer at (443) 569-3950 or through email at [email protected]. We will offer you our free expertise along with valuable professional insights that can help your case. Contact us and let us fight for you.