The DUI penalties in Southern MarylandWritten by ruxandra
The DUI charges should be taken seriously because they bring you severe DUI penalties in Southern Maryland. Lots of people are caught each year driving under the influence. If you were caught driving after drinking and you want to learn more DUI, you can contact a personal injury lawyer from Southern Maryland. A professional Southern Maryland injury lawyer can explain your rights, and determine if the checkpoint you were caught in was legal or not.
The maximum penalties for your first DUI
Your Southern Maryland injury attorney will explain to you that the maximum penalty for a first DUI charge is one year in jail or/and $1000 fine. Most of the time, nobody receives the maximum sentence, but in worst case scenarios (when there are casualties or property damage). Most of the time, judges offer the first offenders an opportunity to receive Probation Before Judgment. Furthermore, there is a wide range of sentencing options the court can choose from for all people on their first offense. But with a solid DUI defense and the best personal injury lawyer attorney from Southern Maryland, you can reduce your sentence as much as possible and also avoid going to jail.
About other penalties
A common practice in Maryland is the split sentence. For example, when the court issues a year in jail sentence and suspends all but 30 days, you will only have to go to jail for 30 days, while the other 11 months will be a probation period. But if you violate the terms of your probation, even if you have the best Southern Maryland injury lawyer by your side, the judge will reinstate the 11 probation months, and you will go back to jail. Ask your Southern Maryland injury attorney if you qualify for a split sentence.
You really have to keep in mind the probation for your first DUI. It is crucial for you to understand that during the probation period, the court system will supervise the guilty person. In general, probation is given to first-time offenders. In Maryland, the probation means that you have to report to a DUI probation office in your area. Your personal injury attorney from Southern Maryland can explain to you more about probation and also will bring you in contact with your probation officer, to see how often you should report and how.
Other DUI penalties
If the judge determines that you have alcohol issues, he will ask for an evaluation. If the results of the assessment determine that you have a problem, then the judge will make you undergo treatment. If you do not complete this court requirement, then you will be brought to trial again as you did not respect the terms of your probation.
For more information about DUI penalties and a free consultation about your case, you can get the help of the best personal injury lawyer from Southern Maryland at (443) 569-3950 or send us an email: [email protected].