What to do if you are at a Maryland DUI 3rd offense?Written by ruxandra
The DUI law of MD states that any individual stopped on the suspicion of driving under the influence and who has a blood alcohol level of 0.08%, or greater will be charged with DUI. If a person has a BAC level between 0.07% and 0.08% they will be arrested for DWI (driving while intoxicated).
But even if your BAC level is lower than 0.07%, you can still be arrested for DUI in Maryland. This happens based on the observation of the officer before and during the stop. Sometimes the police officer determines that you cannot drive due to drug or alcohol consumption, or because you fail the field sobriety test. If you were caught under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you should contact an Annapolis DUI attorney, especially if you are one of Maryland’s repeat DUI offenders.
What are the DUI charges and penalties?
According to the DUI law of MD, driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious crime, which requires a breath test of 0.08% or more. The maximum penalties are:
- First offense: $1000 and/or 1 year
- Second offense: $2000 and/or 2 years
- Third offense: $3000 and/or 3 years
The Maryland 3rd DUI offense includes a prior conviction for driving while impaired by alcohol (21-902(b)) or driving while impaired by drugs (21-902(c)) or alcohol and drugs within five years of your DUI conviction. From an administrative point of view, 12 points could be assessed with the MVA and your driver’s license may be revoked (if you are one of Maryland’s repeat DUI offenders). You can contact a DUI lawyer from Maryland to help you lower your conviction and/or the Maryland DUI fines.
Maryland DUI 3rd offense
When it comes to DUI, the lawmakers of Maryland show little leniency to drivers who repeat this offense. Repeated offenders ofttimes receive the maximum sentence that is allowed by law. There are few exception to this rule if you are at a DUI third offense.
If you are convicted a third time of a drunken driving offense, you will have to face severe penalties. In addition to the $3000 fine, you may have to spend up to three years in jail, and you could lose your driver’s license permanently. Furthermore, if your job depends on your capability of driving, this problem could leave you jobless.
Get the help you need
Drinking and driving is considered a grave offense in the state of Maryland. And if you are facing a third offense, you should get the help of an experienced DUI lawyer from Maryland. With an experienced attorney on your side, you could be able to get the charges reduced or even dismissed.
Contact the best Annapolis DUI attorney at (443) 569-3950 or at the email: [email protected]. Let the best team of lawyers help and protect you.